Stirrings of my heart

I am surprised by the stirring of my heart.

fear and history may dictate what happens next but….

I can’t escape an image that is sharp and as real as writing this poem.

We are sitting on the deck of our house on a beautiful summer morning,

over looking our lake.

Coffee in my hand, some sort of herbal tea in yours and a wonderful calm is in the air.

We can hear all the sounds of the morning, birds, loons, frogs..etc…

I look over to you and your eyes are closed…soaking in that you are alive and happy.

There is something awaking in me….

I feel like a hibernating bear waking from slumber.

Thoughts of a future…of a happiness….of a peace…..with you.

Is it just a dream? Perhaps….

It does give me hope and that is a gift you have given me.

I do not want to dwell in the past. It is now that is important, that is real.

Know one knows what the future holds but what keeps circling in my mind is if this was

not to be, then why are you and I touching each others hearts again?

Leave a comment